Mission and Objectives 
 Strategic Plan 
 Institution Licensure 
 Program Accreditation 
 Student Recruitment Office (SRO) 
 News and Announcements 
 Upcoming Events 
 Recent Activities 
 Institutional Data 
 Good Practice 


Professor M. Badr Aboul-Ela
BSc, MSc, PhD.
Director of the Commission for Academic Accreditation.
Dr. Aboul-Ela graduated with a BSc and MSc in Agriculture from Cairo University, and earned his PhD in Animal Physiology from the University of Aberdeen, UK, in 1980. His university career started at the Faculty of Agriculture, Mansoura University, Egypt, and was promoted as full Professor in 1987. He held several academic administrative positions as Chair, Director of Graduate Studies, Director of Faculty Recruitment and Development Centre, and Dean of Agriculture, at Mansoura University and UAE University. He worked as a Visiting Professor at the University College of North Wales, Bangor, UK in 1987/1988.

As a researcher, Dr. Aboul-Ela published a total of 93 articles in refereed journals, and five chapters in reference books. He won several research prizes and awards including National Prize for Research in Agricultural Sciences, Egypt, 1978; Abdel-Hamid Showmans Prize for best researchers in the Arab world in the area of Animal Production, in 1988; and Presidential Distinction Medal, for Excellence in Research, Egypt, 1994.

Dr. Aboul-Ela was one of the founding members of the Commission for Academic Accreditation, in the UAE when established in 2000 and was appointed as its Director in February 2007, and had a leading role in developing its Standards for Licensure and Accreditation, its e-Learning Standards for Licensure and Accreditation,and its Standards for Licensure and Accreditation of Technical and Vocational Education and Training. Dr. Aboul-Ela is currently the Vice-President of the Arab Network for Quality Assurance Agencies in Higher Education(ANQAAHE).

Dr. Aboul-Ela participated, as a Commissioner, in many licensure and accreditation review teams in the UAE. He also Chaired and participated in Institutional reviewing teams in Oman and Saudi Arabia.

E-mail address: badr.aboulela@moe.gov.ae

Professor Rolin Sidwell
Commissioner Sidwell studied English and Education at Earlham College and subsequently received his PhD in Comparative Literature from Indiana University. In addition, he holds a CPM in Public Management. He was a Policy Fellow with the Institute for Educational Leadership and is the recipient of several awards for teaching and management. Prior to his appointment as Associate Provost for community college/workforce development programs for the University of the District of Columbia, Dr. Sidwell served as the Executive Director of the Education Licensure Commission. The Commission licensed and regulated 75 colleges, universities, and other institutions offering postsecondary education and training in the District of Columbia. Following 13 years as an Assistant Professor of English, he served in several positions as a policy, program, legislative analyst, and education advisor to 3 DC Mayors. He also was the Chief Financial Officer and Deputy Director of DC’s Office of Postsecondary Education, Research, and Assistance.

E-mail address: rolin.sidwell@moe.gov.ae


Professor Abdulsalam Ghaith
Commissioner Ghaith received his BSc degree in Physics from Al-Mustansiriyah University, Iraq and PhD degree in Experimental Solid State Physics from Dundee University, UK. Before joining the Commission, Dr. Ghaith was a Consultant for the Quality and Accreditation Council at the Association of Arab Universities. Prior to that, he held several academic positions as Professor of Physics at Yarmouk University in Jordan, Vice-President of Zarqa University in Jordan and President of Tripoli University in Lebanon. He also worked as a Visiting Scientist at Johanz-Kepler University in Austria, Research Associate at Indiana University in USA and Visiting Scientist at The University of Chicago in USA. He is the Former President of the Jordanian Astronomical Society.

Professor Emad Abuelrub
Commissioner Abuelrub holds BSc degrees in Computer Engineering and Computing & Information Systems from Oklahoma State University, a Master in Computer Science from Alabama A&M University, and a PhD in Computer Science from Louisiana State University, USA. Before joining the Commission, Dr. Abuelrub served in different academic administrative positions in various universities. He is a board member of the Quality Assurance and Accreditation Council / Association of Arab Universities, a former board member of the Arab Organization for Quality Assurance in Education, and a former board member of the Jordanian Accreditation Council. He is a founding member of the Colleges of Computing and Information Society (CCIS) and the former Secretary General. Dr. Abuelrub is a certified reviewer by QAA and EFQM, and served as a consultant and reviewer to many Arab organizations and universities in information technology and quality assurance in higher education. He has been involved in the establishing of many international journals and conferences in information technology and quality assurance. He has published in several areas including quality assurance, e-technology, and parallel computing with over 85 publications.

E-mail address: Abuelrub@moe.gov.ae

Professor Javaid Laghari
Dr. Javaid R. Laghari has served as Tenured Full Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Director of Graduate Studies at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo, USA, and as Chairperson Higher Education Commission (HEC) Pakistan, Coordinator General COMSTECH: the OIC Ministerial Standing Committee on Scientific and Technology Cooperation, Senator in the Pakistan Parliament, and President SZABIST University. Dr. Laghari holds a PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering from SUNY Buffalo, and has attended the NATO Advanced Study Institutes in UK in 1991; and in Italy in 1983. He has published over 120 research papers and presented over 70 papers at International Conferences, and delivered over 37 keynote lectures, 117 Chief Guest addresses, 61 invited lectures, 47 interviews published and over 88 TV interviews. He has also published three books on Leadership. He is the recipient of the Distinguished Leadership Award, 1987, the IEEE Award for Leadership and Dedicated Services, 1994, and the coveted national award Tamgha-e-Imtiaz for distinguished services in education conferred by the President of Pakistan in 1998.

E-mail address: jlaghari@moe.gov.ae

Commission Staff
Ms. Reena RajivQuality Assurance Specialist
Ms. Mervat MahmoudAccountant
Ms. Nahed Saeed Al EbriAdministrative Officer- Travel and Logistics